Our work is need-driven and aims to promote scientific teaching and research at KI, KTH and SU. By developing concepts, creating relationships and spreading knowledge, we strengthen the Stockholm region's competitiveness in life science. Welcome to get in touch!

About Stockholm Science City Foundation

About Stockholm Science City Foundation

We are an active and helpful expert organization facilitating knowledge transfer and growth. We strengthen relations and increase collaborations between academia, industry, and society to support the development of Stockholm as an attractive place for research and entrepreneurship.

Our ambition is to create benefits for society and strengthen Stockholm's competitiveness in life sciences. Our need-driven work aims to promote scientific teaching and research at Karolinska Institutet, the Royal Institute of Technology, and Stockholm University. We are a non-profit foundation established in 1990.

Since 2009 we have aimed to develop the urban district of Hagastaden with nearby surroundings into a world leading centre for life sciences. This work is carried out together with all stakeholders with interests in Hagastaden. As an expert organisation, we have broad networks in academia, industry, healthcare, and other parts of the public sector. In 2007, the cities of Stockholm and Solna, Region Stockholm, Karolinska Institutet, KTH, Stockholm University, and the industry signed a joint agreement to develop Hagastaden into a world-leading place for life science. The document - Vision 2025 - still sets the framework for the Foundation's work with Hagastaden.

Our founders are Karolinska Institutet (KI), KTH Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm University (SU), Stockholm School of Economics, and the private foundations Göran Gustafsson's foundation, Axel & Margaret Ax:son Johnson’s foundation, and Kjell & Märta Beijer's foundation. 

Today we are financed by KI, KTH, SU, City of Stockholm, and Region Stockholm. Our founders and financial contributors form a strong base for a long-term commitment to developing a stable environment for research and innovation.

Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board

Johan Christenson (HealthCap)

Board members from university

Karin Dahlman-Wright
Professor, Karolinska Institutet

Jan-Olov Höög (deputy)
Professor, Karolinska Institutet

Mikael Lindström
Deputy President and Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Mathias Uhlén (deputy)
Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Stefan Nordlund
Professor, Stockholm University

Åsa Borin (deputy)
University Director, Stockholm University

Board members from the public sector

Staffan Ingvarsson,
CEO, Stockholm Business Region

Karin Ekdahl Wästberg
Innovation Director, City of Stockholm

Pontus Holm (deputy)
Head of Program Office Life Science, Region Stockholm Assembly

Magnus Persson
Member of the regional assembly


Board members from the private sector

Stefan Stern
Communications Manager, Nordstjernan. Representing The Axel and Margaret Ax:son Johnson Foundation for Public Benefit.

Ingrid Leffler
Representing Göran Gustafsson's Foundation.

Veronica Beckius (co-opt)
Teamleader Business Development Stockholm, Castellum. Representing and chairman of the Board, Hagastaden Property Developers.

Vision 2025.pdf (4.01 MB)